BRP was well represented at the recent APBA (American Powerboat Association) National Racing Championships as Sea-Doo watercraft mounted watercross racers filled 74.3% of the runabout podium positions. Nashville Shores waterpark hosted the championship races that included the best watercross racers from around North America.

Thirty-two new National Champions were crowned in Nashville with Canada’s Jay Edworthy taking home arguably the most coveted number one plate by winning the Pro Runabout Open aboard his Sea-Doo watercraft.

With the combined two moto system, Edworthy earned a 2-1 finish for the overall win but more impressive was the way he won the second moto. Edworthy, with a mid-pack start, methodically passed racers one-by-one with consistent speed and strategic lines. On lap 15 of the 20-lap moto, Edworthy made the pass on then race leader Erminio Iantosca. By race end, Edworthy finished roughly 10 seconds ahead of second place finisher, fellow Sea-Doo mounted racer, Justin Haverkate.

Edworthy collected the 2006 National Championship on his Sea-Doo watercraft and collected a portion of the Sea-Doo Bounty contingency program. Edworthy also qualified for the 2006 Sea-Doo Bounty finally – Chase for the Booty - competition that will award one Sea-Doo mounted racer with $4000.00 cash at the IJSBA World Finals, taking place in Lake Havasu City, AZ in early October.

The year’s top eight Sea-Doo Bounty contingency fund winners and the 2006 APBA champions will be invited to participate in this special event. The Sea-Doo Bounty program is an open sponsorship in which top finishing racers competing on Sea-Doo watercraft are rewarded with extra funds to assist them with their racing efforts.

BRP is proud to congratulate this years Sea-Doo mounted National Champions, and proud to assist them through the Sea-Doo Bounty Racer Support Program.

2006 APBA National Championships

Pro Runabout 1200 OPEN
1 Jay Edworthy Sea-Doo Cambridge, Ontario
2 Erminio Iantosca Kawa Naples, FL
3 Justin Haverkate Sea-Doo Grandville, MI

Pro Runabout 800 OPEN
1 Michael Phenes Sea-Doo Ruther Park, VA
2 Brian Baldwin Sea-Doo Denver, NC
3 Eric Lagopoulos Sea-Doo Sarasota, FL

Pro/Am Runabout 1200 Stock
1 Brian Baldwin Sea-Doo Denver, NC
2 Marc Petz Sea-Doo Allegan, MI
3 Mitch Newlin Sea-Doo RXP Cross Junction, VA

Amateur Veterans 1200
1 Stan Hightower Sea-Doo RXP Rome, GA
2 Mitch Newlin Sea-Doo RXP Cross Junction, VA
3 Amy Green Yam Escondido, CA

Expert Runabout 1200 Limited
1 Joshua Irwin Sea-Doo Melrose, FL
2 Roger Hortensuis Sea-Doo Hamilton, Ontario
3 Trace Mills Kawa Dallas, TX

Novice Runabout 1200 Limited
1 Josh “Opie” Lambert Sea-Doo Grand Rapids, MI
2 Jordan Iashmelt Polaris Glenwood, IA
3 Charlie Martinez Sea-Doo Buena Park, CA

Novice Runabout 1200 Stock
1 Stan Hawk Sea-Doo Kellogg, IA
2 Jeremy Kettering Sea-Doo Ludlow Falls, OH
3 Aaron Norton Sea-Doo Raytown, MO