Penang Island played host to seventy-five jet pilots from the USA, Great Britain, Scotland, Thailand, Indonesia, France, Singapore, Kuwait and host country Malaysia on the beaches of Batu Ferringhi for the inaugural Penang International Offshore Race 2004 held from 18 till 19 December 2004.

This fast paced action packed and unique race, sanctioned by the International Jet Sports Boating Association (IJSBA) was endorsed and supported by the Tourism Ministry of Malaysia, the Ministry of Youth and Sports of Malaysia and the Penang Tourism Action Council.

Apart from the host country Malaysian riders from Selangor, Perak, Johor and Penang PENJET 2004 was also graced by current and former world champions Chaowalit Kuajaroon, Chokuthit Molee and Theerawat Larhib from Team Flamingo Thailand, Ali Al Shamali from Kuwait and Medhy Menad from France. Ten times Pro Ski World Champion Jeff Jacobs from the USA also took time off to come and support PENJET 2004.

Mr. Justin Lee and his eight strong race marshal team from Singapore conducted the race direction for PENJET. Headed by Raja Adam Raja Alang, Johor Blue Star Watersports conducted the race administration for PENJET. All safety measures were implemented to make PENJET a safe, fair and incident free race.

Support was given by the Penang Tourism Action Council headed by YB Teng Chang Yeow for activating the Penang State Marine Police, RES'Q 991, Jabatan Bomba dan Penyelamat, Red Cresent Society, Jabatan Pertahanan Awan, Jabatan Laut, PPSB, Immigration and Customs Department, Jabatan Perikanan, Polis Udara and PDRM to assist PENJET. Utusan, The Star, Virtual Malaysia and ntv7 provided the media coverage. Photojournalist Nancy Newton from the UK also graced the event to cover for the syndicated Europe/US PWC Lifestyles Travel Magazine. Honda Malaysia provided PENJET with two CRV courtesy cars. We look forward in having Honda AquaTrak Turbo charged jet skis during PENJET 2005

Just earlier this year, Malaysia was hosting the World Tourism Day, which sparked an emphasis on Sports Tourism. Having events like PENJET 2004, Malaysia is well on its track to make sports and tourism an inseparable package that will further tourists form all over the globe to make Malaysia their preferred travel destination. With the positive feedback and encouragement from both the local and foreign, plans are underway to make PENJET 2005 race as part of the ASIAN PWC circuit in the future.

PENJET was to be launched by the Deputy Minister of Tourism, YB Dato' Ahmad Zahid Hamidi. However due a delay in his arrival from Dubai, the Deputy Minister of Tourism could not arrive as scheduled to PENJET. PENJET 2004 wishes to express its highest gratitude to YB Dato' Ahmad Zahid Hamidi for making PENJET 2004 a reality.

Day One - International Offshore Race on 18th December 2004

Forty jet pilots started on the starting line at 1130hrs on the first day of PENJET 2004. The race had a mass start flag off on three combined classification comprising the R/A 1200 SS, R/A 800 SS, R/A 4 Stroke Open cc classes and two Malaysia Open R/A 1200 and R/A 800 classes. The jet pilots had to chart a four-lap route. The distance of each lap is 30km.

Final Results - Offshore Race

R/A 1200 Super Stock Class
1. (tie) Pitchet Settura Thailand/IR Racing
1. (tie)Lim Tian Seng Malaysia/Johor
3. Jeff Bukhaimer USA

R/A 4 Stroke Open CC Class
1. Pitchet Settura Thailand/IR Racing
2. Jeff Bukaimer USA
3. Panya Wangroon Thailand/Flamingo

R/A 800 Super Stock Class
1. Phanom Khunjeng Thailand/Ritthirong
2. Theo Rompis Indonesia
3. Shamsul Khairi Ani Malaysia

R/A 800 Malaysia Open Class
1. Shamsul Khairi Ani Malaysia
2. Chia Boon Choy Malaysia
3. Ahmad Dawi Alias Malaysia

R/A 1200 Malaysia Open Class
1. Lim Tian Seng Malaysia
2. (tie) Ng Lian Teng Malaysia
2. (tie) Junaidi Ismail Malaysia
4. Tang Kee Tiong Malaysia

Day Two - International Closed Course Race on 19th December 2004

Thirty-five jet pilots took part in three categories during the second day of PENJET 2004. The classes were Pro-Am Ski 800 SS, Pro-Am R/A 1200 SS and Pro-Am R/A 800 SS. The race was run in fine weather and all of the three motos were run according to the schedule and with exciting racing.

Final Results - Closed Course Race

Pro-Am Ski 800 Super Stock Class
1. Chaowalit Kuajaroon Thailand/Flamingo
2. Tongne Tongviset Thailand/Flamingo
3. Vichit Kaensuai Thailand/Flamingo

Pro-Am R/A 1200 Super Stock Class
1. Chokuthit Molee Thailand/Flamingo
2. Chaowalit Kuajaroon Thailand/Flamingo
3. Lee Yew Kong Malaysia/PJS Racing

Pro-Am R/A 800 Super Stock Class
1. Saroj Pimnin Thailand/Ritthirong
2. Chokuthit Molee Thailand/Flamingo
3. Chaowalit Kuajaroon Thailand/Flamingo