IJSBA is pleased to announce winners from the 2015 Hot Products Mark Hahn 300 presented by Yamaha.

It was another fantastic Mark Hahn 300.  The event was lucky to receive great weather and smooth water to allow for good speeds and great racing.  Production by Jim Russell, Mike Follmer, and Ross Wallach kept the event running perfectly.  Professional and responsible PWC racers navigated competition route through the open lake without disturbing recreational boaters.  Teams did a great job of quickly and safely getting racecraft in and out of the pits while adhering to the rules and requirements imposed by the permitting agencies.  An excellent show by all.

There are three highlight moments you can always count on at the Mark Hahn 300:

1.  The first lap.  The first lap is exciting in seeing who had the ability to take a lead.  There are, of course, two first laps as the Runabouts and Ski are staggered to allow for the faster craft to get distance and allow the Ski to get a clean water start.  The first lap show speed and eagerness.  It may not always show the winner, but the first PWC, in each division show who leads and who is in the hunt.  Many factors change the outcome but the anticipation on the shoreline of who comes into the scoring gate first is palpable and is always fun to watch.  This year, Yury Riabko made a pass at the chicane that showed leaders that a position can be snatched away from you at any time you let off the throttle.

2.  The tow-ins.  Nothing is more heartbreaking to a competitor than the absence of sound from your engine compartment.  The emotional drain of the loss of momentum comes from the overpowering agony of seeing points slip away from you as competitors go by.  Pit crew, on the shoreline, wait anxiously as the blurred figure of a course marshal comes into sight and reveals who is the unfortunate pilot being towed.  Even a quick repair and turnaround cannot overcome the positions lost by a long tow back to the pits.   The best of the best were victims of the tow:  James Bushell, AlFahdel/Aldawas, Kanamre/Cruze, Heidler/Gerner, and Riabko/Sylvan.  The dynamic changes are huge as are the motivations of the competitors remaining in the race.

3.  The awards.  Perhaps one of the most dramatic and impressive parts of each annual Mark Hahn 300 is the moment where the curtain is opened and the competitors get to see the gorgeous hardware winners will take home.  Nobody, I mean absolutely nobody, in PWC racing puts their heart and soul into their passion for the sport and produces trophies like Mike Follmer.  The quality of the trophies for this event is unmatched anywhere.


Pictures and official results will follow as they are officially submitted.  In the meantime, IJSBA is pleased to share the following winners:

Jean Bruno PASTORELLO/Jean Baptiste Botti:  Pro/Am 4 Stroke Open and Overall winners (a great comeback for PASTORELLO who was injured during the Peru Raid last year.

Jon Ford/Sara Smith: 4 Stroke Stock


Carlos Truta/Filipe Filipe: Vet Masters Open


Aqsa Aswar:  4 Stroke Stock and Runabout Ironman

Brian Baldwin/Mike Klippenstien:  Manufacturers Stock

Renee Hill/Tyler Hill:  4 Stroke N/A Open

Kody Kopnhaver/Aaron Gewecke:  Stand Up Open

Chad Zemen:  Ironman Ski